Book Review

The Retreat by Mark Edwards: A Review

*A copy of this e-book was sent to me in exchange for my honest review.

A horror author decides to escape to a writer’s retreat to work on his latest novel, but ends up getting sucked in to the mystery of what happened there years ago. The Retreat is everything I was looking for in a suspense/mystery/thriller, and kept me guessing until the very end.

This book basically defines my reading wheelhouse. Creepy woods? Check. Struggling author seeking inspiration? Check. Weird cold-case crime to obsess over and solve? Check and check.

This mystery was the perfect combination of surprise and sufficient clues to give you a chance at solving the crime for yourself. I really enjoyed the multi-generational element to the story, and I thought the ending was quite clever.

I have been in a such a thriller-mystery mood lately but was getting a little tired of the genre tropes. This story was so refreshing!

My rating: 4/5 stars.

One thought on “The Retreat by Mark Edwards: A Review

Leave a comment